Direct access Research units

Presentation

The research themes carried out in the unit UPR 9002 focus on the biology of the RNA world. RNAs are indeed at the heart of many biological functions such as regulation of gene expression, translation or viral infection. RNAs fulfill their functions by adopting dedicated 3D structures enabling them to interact in a coordinated fashion with their partner(s). These structures lead to the control of the biological functions because of the very specific underlying interaction mechanisms. These are far from being elucidated, and studying them open multiple avenues both at the basic and applied level.

The themes

We are studying more specifically the mechanisms of gene expression at the post-transcription level, and also various aspects of the translation machinery. Our studies deal with viruses, bacteria (E.coli, staphylococcus, thermophiles) and eukaryotes (yeast, Anopheles, mammals). One of our major preoccupation is to better understand the molecular mechanisms whose disorders lead to various pathologies (retroviruses and AIDS, cancer, iron and selenium metabolism, genetic diseases, pathologies linked to mitochondria defects…).

Our skills

Even though the thematic field that structures the unit is centered on RNA in all its states and shapes, the approaches that are taken are both multi- and transdisciplinary, carried out by a panel of scientists with background in biology, biochemistry, chemistry and physics. Owing to the benefits of the synergistic effects between genetics, molecular and cellular biology, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics and genomics, studies focusing on RNA will enable an evolutionary understanding of biological issues, from the molecule to the phenotype.

News

Agenda

Address

RNA architecture and reactivity

Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire
2 allée Konrad Roentgen
67084 Strasbourg Cedex
France

Teams

Contacts

Administrative and Financial Manager
Danièle WERLING
Administration and Management
Léandra HERNANDEZ
Administration and Management
Sylvie VOLET
Administration and Management
Anaïs LAMALLE

Our supervision

logo CNRS
logo Université de Strasbourg
logo Inserm

Our labels

Logo Adisseo
Logo ANR
Logo ANRS
Logo Commission Européenne
Logo Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale
Logo Investissement d’Avenir
Logo Ligue Nationale Contre le Cancer
Logo Région Grand Est
Logo Sidaction

Accès direct Unités de recherche

Présentation

Les thèmes de recherche développés dans l’Unité 9002 du CNRS portent sur la biologie du monde de l’ARN. Les ARN sont en effet à la base de nombreuses fonctions biologiques (régulation de l’expression génique, traduction, ou infection virale). Ils remplissent leurs fonctions notamment en adoptant des structures spatiales particulières qui leur permettent d’interagir avec leurs partenaires de manière coordonnée. Ces structures contrôlent de nombreux processus biologiques par des mécanismes d’interaction très sélectifs qui sont loin d’être élucidés et dont l’étude ouvre de multiples perspectives tant fondamentales qu’appliquées.

Les thématiques

Nous étudions tout particulièrement les mécanismes de l’expression génique au niveau post-transcriptionnel ainsi que de nombreux aspects de la machinerie traductionnelle. Nos études concernent aussi bien le monde viral que bactérien (E. coli, staphylocoques, thermophiles, …) ou qu’eucaryote (levure, anophèle, mammifères, …). Une préoccupation majeure est la compréhension de mécanismes moléculaires dont le dysfonctionnement est lié à diverses pathologies (rétrovirus et SIDA, cancer, métabolismes du fer et du sélénium, maladies génétiques, pathologies d’origine mitochondriale, …).

Nos compétences

Même si le champ thématique structurant de l’unité est centré sur la molécule d’ARN dans tous ses états et dans toutes ses formes, les approches utilisées sont pluri- et transdisciplinaires et font appel aux compétences de chercheurs ayant une formation de base en biologie, biochimie, chimie et physique. Ils couvrent la biologie structurale, moléculaire et cellulaire, la bioinformatique, ainsi que la chimie et la physico-chimie. Grâce à cette alliance entre génétique, biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, biochimie, biophysique, bioinformatique et génomique, les études centrées sur l’ARN nous permettent une compréhension évolutive de phénomènes biologiques du moléculaire au phénotypique.

Actualités

Agenda

Adresse

Architecture et réactivité de l'ARN

Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire
2 allée Konrad Roentgen
67084 Strasbourg Cedex
France

Directrice

Équipes

Contacts

Administration
Anaïs LAMALLE
Administration et Gestion
Léandra HERNANDEZ

Notre tutelle

logo CNRS

Associé à

Logo Université de Strasbourg
Logo Inserm
Logo Adisseo
Logo ANR
Logo ANRS
Logo Commission Européenne
Logo Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale
Logo Investissement d’Avenir
Logo Ligue Nationale Contre le Cancer
Logo Région Grand Est
Logo Sidaction