Direct access Research units

Presentation

INSECTARIUM is one of the platforms of the new extension of the Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology in Strasbourg (IBMC). The Institute’s researchers study the control of infections, from the molecule to the living organism. The insectarium makes it possible to work on mosquitoes with human pathogens to understand how they interact and test new means of control. Indeed, mosquitoes are vectors of human pathologies of the parasitic or viral type. Throughout the world, the impact of these diseases is very significant, both in terms of the human cost (more than 400,000 deaths per year from malaria) and in economic terms (estimated at €7 billion per year).

This extension, inaugurated in 2018, is a 1250 m2 building of which 270 m2 is entirely dedicated to the breeding, transgenesis and infection of Anopheles and Aedes mosquitoes.

Management of the platform

The platform is governed by the scientific manager, who is assisted in management by a technical manager. The technical manager ensures compliance with regulations and coordination of the scientific and management committees.

The scientific committee participates fully in the platform’s studies, research, exchanges and publications. It keeps a scientific and methodological watch, proposes developments and contributes to enhancing the value of the activity and developing the platform’s network.

The Management Committee implements the directives of the Scientific Committee and ensures the quality of the services offered. It organises the practical management of the laboratories, training and exercises.

The premises and associated organisational measures are guided by compliance with European Directives 2009/41/EC and 2000/54/EC on measures for the containment of GMOs and pathogens. The platform is not ISO 9001 certified, but a quality approach based on the ISO 9001 reference system has been initiated with, initially, the drafting of safety and operating procedures following a quality document management model.

News

Address

Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire
2 allée Konrad Roentgen
67084 Strasbourg CEDEX

+33 3 88 41 70 70 lramolu@ibmc-cnrs.unistra.fr

Services

Contacts

Responsable
Ludivine Ramolu

Our supervision

logo CNRS

Associated to

Logo Université de Strasbourg
Logo Inserm
Logo Investissement d’Avenir
Logo IBISA

Accès direct Unités de recherche

Présentation

L’INSECTARIUM est une des plateformes de la nouvelle extension de l’Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire à Strasbourg (IBMC). Les chercheurs de l’Institut étudient le contrôle des infections, de la molécule à l’organisme vivant. L’insectarium permet de travailler sur les moustiques avec des pathogènes humains pour comprendre comment ils interagissent et tester de nouveaux moyens de lutte. En effet, les moustiques sont vecteurs de pathologies humaines de type parasitaire ou viral. A travers le monde l’impact de ces maladies est très important, par le coût humain engendré (plus de 400 000 décès par an pour le paludisme) mais aussi au niveau économique (estimé à 7 Mds d’€ par an).

Cette extension, inaugurée en 2018, est un bâtiment de 1250 m2 dont 270 m2 sont entièrement dédiés à l’élevage, la transgénèse et l’infection des moustiques Anopheles et Aedes.

Gestion de la plateforme

La plateforme est gouvernée par le responsable scientifique, qui est aidé dans la gestion par un responsable technique. Le responsable technique assure le respect de la réglementation et la coordination des comités scientifique et de gestion.

Le comité scientifique participe pleinement aux travaux d’études, de recherche, d’échange et de publications de la plateforme. Il assure la veille scientifique et méthodologique, propose des développements et contribue à valoriser l’activité et à développer le réseau de la plateforme.

Le comité de gestion met en œuvre les directives du comité scientifique et s’assure de la qualité des services proposés. Il organise la gestion pratique des laboratoires, les formations et les exercices.

Les locaux et les mesures organisationnelles associées ont pour lignes directrices le respect des directives européennes 2009/41/CE et 2000/54/CE relatives aux mesures de confinement des OGM et des agents pathogènes. La plate-forme n’est pas certifiée ISO 9001 mais une démarche qualité basée sur le référentiel ISO 9001 est initiée avec dans un premier temps la rédaction des procédures de sécurité et de fonctionnement en suivant un modèle de gestion documentaire qualité.

Actualités

Adresse

Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire
2 allée Konrad Roentgen
67084 Strasbourg CEDEX

+33 3 88 41 70 70 lramolu@ibmc-cnrs.unistra.fr

Services

Nos tutelles

logo CNRS
logo Université de Strasbourg
logo Inserm

Nos labels

Logo Investissement d’Avenir
Logo IBISA