Direct access Research units

Welcome to the

IBMC

Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology

Presentation

The Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology (IBMC) hosts three research units affiliated to the National Institute of Biological Sciences of the CNRS. Created in 1974 in the heart of the Esplanade campus in downtown Strasbourg, this federative institute is also supported by the University of Strasbourg and INSERM. It houses more than two hundred researchers, university faculty members, engineers, technicians, post-docs and PhD or master students.

The IBMC carries fundamental research of excellence at the interface of molecular and cellular biology, immunology, chemistry and biophysics, more particularly in the context of infectious diseases and resistance to infections. The research units use and develop cutting-edge technologies ranging from high-resolution structural biology to integrative physiology in vivo, including the development of multifunctional nanomaterials for therapeutic purposes. The main areas of research addressed are the biology of RNA in infectious diseases, the regulation of gene expression in response to abiotic and biotic stresses, innate and adaptive immunity and their deregulation in disease, the transmission of infectious diseases by mosquitoes.

IBMC is home to high-tech platforms, including mass spectrometry applied to the characterization of interactomes, the SPF animal facility and the insectarium dedicated to studies on infectious disease, which are open to the academic and private scientific community. Its exceptional scientific environment favors collaborations and technology transfer.

Units

News

Agenda

Address

Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology

2, Allée Konrad Roentgen - 67 084 Strasbourg Cedex - France

+33 3 88 41 70 00 accueil@ibmc-cnrs.unistra.fr

Unit director

Our supervision

logo CNRS
logo Université de Strasbourg
logo Inserm

Accès direct Unités de recherche

Bienvenue à l'

IBMC

Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire

Présentation

L’Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire (IBMC) regroupe trois unités de recherche rattachées à l’Institut National des Sciences Biologiques du CNRS. Créé en 1974 au cœur du campus de l’Esplanade au centre-ville de Strasbourg, cet Institut fédératif est soutenu par l’Université de Strasbourg et l’INSERM. Il héberge plus de deux cents chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, ingénieurs, techniciens, post-doctorants et étudiants en doctorat ou Master.

L’IBMC développe une recherche fondamentale d’excellence à l'interface de la biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, de l’immunologie, de la chimie, et de la biophysique, plus particulièrement dans le domaine des pathologies infectieuses et de la résistance aux infections. Les unités utilisent et développent des technologies de pointe allant de la biologie structurale à haute résolution à la physiologie intégrative in vivo, en passant par l’élaboration de nanomatériaux multifonctionnels à visée thérapeutique. Les principaux domaines de recherche abordés sont la biologie de l’ARN dans les pathologies infectieuses, la régulation de l’expression des gènes en réponse aux stress abiotiques et biotiques, l’immunité innée et adaptative et leur dérégulation en situation pathologique, la transmission des maladies infectieuses par les moustiques.

L’IBMC abrite des plateformes technologiques de pointe issues du savoir-faire des unités et ouvertes à la communauté scientifique académique et privée, notamment la spectrométrie de masse appliquée à la caractérisation des interactomes, l’animalerie de statut EOPS, et l’insectarium dédié aux études en infectiologie. Son environnement scientifique exceptionnel favorise les collaborations et le transfert technologique.

Unités

Actualités

Agenda

Adresse

Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire

2, Allée Konrad Roentgen - 67 084 Strasbourg Cedex - France

+33 3 88 41 70 00 accueil@ibmc-cnrs.unistra.fr

Directeur de l'Institut

Nos tutelles

logo CNRS
logo Université de Strasbourg
logo Inserm